Pervez Rashid’s nomination papers rejected

PML-N candidate Pervez Rashid’s nomination papers for the Senate elections have been rejected by the Returning Officer. Pervez Rashid’s nomination papers were rejected for non-payment of dues of Punjab House.

Following the completion of scrutiny of nomination papers in Islamabad, the Returning Officer has approved the nomination papers of 9 candidates. Former Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gilani’s nomination papers have been accepted from Islamabad.

After the death of senior PML-N leader Senator Mushahidullah Khan, the party in Punjab will have to issue tickets to his Korang candidate.

Afnanullah Khan, son of Mushahidullah Khan, has filed his nomination papers for the Punjab general seat as a Korang candidate. However, due to objections to his nomination papers, the Returning Officer has not yet accepted the nomination papers.

Meanwhile, Farhat Shehzadi, who appeared as the Korang candidate for the PTI women’s seat in Punjab, has withdrawn her nomination papers. Farhat Shahzadi has been criticized on social media for issuing tickets due to her closeness to Imran Khan’s wife Bushra Bibi. However, Special Assistant to the Prime Minister Shahbaz Gul had clarified on Twitter that Dr. Zarqa has been nominated while Farhat Shahzadi has submitted nomination papers as a coring candidate.

The nomination papers of PTI candidates Hafeez Sheikh, Farid-ur-Rehman and Syed Muhammad Ali Bukhari for the Islamabad general seat have also been approved. The nomination papers of PTI candidates Fauzia Arshad and Munira Javed Mirza for the women’s seat were also accepted.

The nomination papers of Dr Tariq Fazal Chaudhry, PML-N candidate for the Senate general seat from Islamabad have also been approved while the nomination papers of Farzana Kausar and Farah Naz Akbar for the women’s seat have also been accepted.

Independent candidate Muhammad Yousuf’s nomination papers for the Islamabad general seat were rejected on the grounds of dual citizenship and lack of endorsement and verification.

So far, nomination papers of 15 candidates for 11 seats from Punjab have been accepted.

Nomination papers of 5 candidates of PML-N, 8 candidates of PTI, one each of PPP and PML-Q were accepted.

PTI’s Jamshed Iqbal Cheema, Dr Zarqa Suhrawardy, Muhammad Khan Madani, Umar Sarfraz Cheema, Barrister Ali Zafar, Saifullah Khan Niazi, Ejaz Chaudhry and Zaheer Abbas Khokar while PML-N’s Zahid Hamid, Azam Nazir Tarar, Saif-ul-Muluk Khokhar, The nomination papers of Irfan Siddiqui and Saira Afzal Tarar have also been approved.

PML-N’s Pervez Rashid has been accused of revealing important national secrets, speaking against institutions and general session in nomination papers while technocrats have been mentioned in the affidavit while Mushahidullah Khan’s son Afnanullah has been accused by FBR. Objection of non-payment has been made.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *