Senate elections: Yousuf Raza Gilani defeats Hafeez Sheikh

In the Senate elections, Yousuf Raza Gilani, the candidate of the Pakistan Democratic Movement from Islamabad, gave a big upset by defeating Hafeez Sheikh of the ruling coalition. According to unofficial results, Yousuf Raza Gilani got 169 votes and Hafeez Sheikh got 164 votes. PTI’s Fauzia Arshad has won the second seat.

It should be noted that the opposition has 160 members in the National Assembly. The remaining 9 votes have been given to Yousuf Raza Gilani by government members. A recount was held at the request of Hafeez Sheikh but Yousuf Raza Gilani was declared successful again.

Shahbaz Gul, the special assistant to PM Imran Khan, has announced that there is a difference of five votes. The PTI will challenge this conclusion.

Pakistan Democratic Movement chief Maulana Fazlur Rehman, while congratulating Yousuf Raza Gilani on his “historic” victory in the Senate elections, said that it had been proved that the fake Prime Minister had lost his majority. The fake Prime Minister should resign immediately today. The selected have lost the trust of their own members. Today our position was confirmed that the 2018 mandate was fake.

Maryam Nawaz, while issuing a statement on the victory of Yousuf Raza Gilani, said that the fake mandate was snatched back by the representatives of the people – despite pressure from their own people, flour thieves, sugar thieves, power thieves, vote thieves, and people’s criminals Imran Khan refused to vote. You no longer have the right to occupy the Prime Minister’s House. Vote thief leaves the chair

Bilawal Bhutto, while briefly commenting on the victory of Yousuf Raza Gilani, said that “democracy is the best revenge.”

On the other hand, unofficial results from the provinces continue to arrive.

From Islamabad, PTI and PDM got one each, from Punjab, PTI and PML-N got five each, PML-Q got one, PPP got seven from Sindh, PTI got two, Muttahida Qaumi Movement got two. From Balochistan, Baap Party got 7 seats, Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam got 2 seats, Awami National Party got 1 seat, Balochistan National Party got 2 seats from Mengal, PTI got 10 seats from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Baap Party got one seat and Awami National Party also got one seat.


According to unconfirmed and unofficial results, five of the seven general seats in the Senate were held by Sarfraz Bugti of Balochistan Awami Party, Prince Agha Umar Ahmadzai, Manzoor Kakar, Nawabzada Umar Farooq Kasi of the coalition ANP and BAP, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf. Achieved by Abdul Qadir.

Balochistan Awami Party candidate Saeed Ahmed Hashmi won a technocrat seat. One minority seat was won by Dinesh Kumar of the Balochistan Awami Party while one women’s seat was also won by Samina Mumtaz of Balochistan Awami Party.

Opposition parties won four seats. Qasim Ronjho of Balochistan National Party and Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haideri of JUI won two general seats. Kamran Murtaza of JUI won the technocrat seat and Naseema Ehsan of Balochistan National Party won one women’s seat.

Elections were held from Balochistan for a total of 12 Senate seats, including seven for general, two for women, two for technocrats, and one for minorities.


In Sindh, elections were held for a total of 11 seats in the Senate, including general, women, and technocrats.

General seats

Shirin Rehman, PPP, 22 votes

Jam Mehtab Dahar, PPP, 19 votes

Saleem Mandviwala, PPP, 20 votes

Taj Haider, PPP, 20 votes

Shahadat Awan, PPP, 19 votes

Faisal Sabzwari, MQM, 22 votes

Faisal Wawda, PTI, 20 votes

Women’s seats

Palwasha Khan, PPP, 60 votes

Khaleda Ateeb, MQM, 57 votes

Technocrat seats

Farooq H Naik, PPP, 61 votes

Saifullah Abro, PTI, 57 votes

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

From Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, PTI got 10 seats, Baap Party got one seat and Awami National Party also got one seat.

PTI’s Zeeshan Khanzada, Shibli Faraz, Faisal Saleem, Liaquat Khan Turki, Mohsin Aziz, and Hidayatullah of the opposition won the general seats. One General Assembly vote was rejected. About 19 were needed to succeed.

PTI’s Falak Naz and Sania Nishtar won the women’s seats. PTI’s Gurdeep Singh won over the minority.

Dr. Humayun Mahand and Dost Muhammad Mehsud of PTI won both the seats of Technocrat. Two independent billionaire candidates from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa failed.

Polling time, counting continues

Polling time for the Senate elections has ended after which the staff of the Election Commission has started counting the votes. In the National Assembly, the Presiding Officer (Chief Election Commissioner) announced the end of polling time.

Polling for the Upper House elections continued from 8 am to 5 pm without any break. Meanwhile, members of Sindh, Balochistan, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, and the National Assembly exercised their franchise, while senators from all parties in Punjab have won unopposed.

All 65 members of the Balochistan Assembly cast their votes. 167 out of 168 members of the Sindh Assembly voted while Jamaat-e-Islami member Abdul Rashid did not exercise his right to vote.

Out of 145 members of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly, 130 members cast their votes while other members could not reach.

Abdul Akbar Chitrali, a member of the Jamaat-e-Islami in the National Assembly, did not use his vote. All other members voted.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *